We use cookies to understand how you use our site and to improve your experience. This includes personalizing content and advertising. By continuing to use our site, you accept our use of Cookies, Privacy Policy Term of use.
Video Player is loading.
Current Time 0:00
Duration 0:00
Loaded: 0%
Stream Type LIVE
Remaining Time 0:00
443 views • February 14, 2021

SAINT-SAËNS Introduction and Rondo Capriccioso | Nicolas BALDEYROU and friends

Dear friends, I hope you’re well and I’m very happy to share this new video, where I’m playing with great musicians one of my favorite violin pieces, introduction and Rondo capriccioso by Camille Saint-Saëns ! Saint-Saëns composed this work in 1863. Like many composers who write concertos for instruments they do not play, Saint-Saëns welcomed the advice of the great Spanish violinist, Pablo de Sarasate, when he composed music for solo violin. They met when Sarasate was just fifteen and Saint-Saëns twenty-four, and at the famous violin had approached Saint-Saëns hoping that he would compose something for him to play. « As if it were the easiest thing in the world, he had come quite simply to ask me to write a concerto for him ». Saint-Saëns, like Bruch, Lalo, Joachim, Wieniawski, and Dvořák in the coming years, was flattered and charmed by Sarasate’s request, and agreed at once. The first work he composed for Sarasate, completed that same year (1859), was his A major violin concerto. Four years later, he wrote this Introduction and Rondo capriccioso, a brief work with a reflective opening, almost like an operatic recitative and a dazzling aria full of fireworks, tailor-made to show off Sarasate’s famed technique. It immediately became standard virtuoso fare. Many people already arranged the piece for clarinet, but I decided to do my own arrangement, trying to make it sound as natural as possible, and after long hesitation (I first tried Bb clarinet and D clarinet), I chose to use an A clarinet to respect the original key. Let me know what you think about it ! And if you like it you can already order the arrangement on http://www.clarinet-edition.fr/partition.php?id=94 Of course I would like to thank Mathilde Calderini (flute), Hélène Devilleneuve (oboe) and Marie Boichard for joining me with such talent on this video ! 🙏🙏🙏✨ Have a nice Sunday and take care !
Show All
Comment 1